Peter Levine talks about the beginnings of Somatic Experiencing Therapy

Peter Levine, psychologist and originator of Somatic Experiencing Therapy, talks about how he created SE years before the diagnosis of PTSD was recognized. Peter beautifully elucidates the truth of the body’s capacity to heal itself and how SE facilitates that process. I owe so much to Peter and SE in the way I work with patients every day.

One thought on “Peter Levine talks about the beginnings of Somatic Experiencing Therapy

  1. I wish I could find someone to talk more about complex trauma. Most of the examples therapist use to explain the damaging effects of PTSD, are grown adult vets in war or rape victims, I cannot relate to that form of injury to the psyche, it is just too horrible to imagine. However, I have tried for 2 decades to recover from complex trauma & it is feeling like a life sentence. My body still goes into freeze & shut down when I feel threatened by folks who weld more power and authority, even the tone of their voice & posture can be a trigger. I can’t even seem to get meditation to work to soothe this shut down response. Can you please have a guest on that can address complex trauma and what therapy works best for it..

    Like

Leave a Reply

